It’s all corporate sh*t from where I stand

Thanks Kroger, for your support of small businesses.  Imagine my surprise today as I go through the weekly circular to see what’s on sale to find that you are now selling VETERINARY ONLY drugs at your pharmacy.   I find that highly amusing and very dangerous.

Do you have a veterinarian on staff?  No?  I didn’t think so.  So you think pharmacists are trained in animal physiology in medicine?  See, there, you’re wrong. They aren’t.  Veterinarians and veterinary pharmacists are.  Good luck finding a veterinary pharmacist, the only ones I’ve seen are at Dr. Fosters and Smith (another sellout) and universities.   Regular veterinarians, there are scads of them, but you don’t seem to think employing them to make sure you don’t eff up  a prescription really isn’t that important.  Once again, you’re wrong.

Here is a scenario I envision after a client of mine fills a prescription at your pharmacy.

Client:  Dr. Danvers, Fluffy’s just gotten really sick after taking his heartworm pills!

Me:  Where did you get them from?

Client: XXX pharmacy.

Me: What is the name of the prevention?

Client:  XXX heartworm prevention.

Me:  That’s not the prescription I wrote for you, it was for XXY heartworm prescription.  I have not heard of XXX heartworm prescription.  Do you know what the active ingredient in it is?

Client:  I don’t know, I can’t find it on the box.

 

And that, my friends, is why certain drugs NEED to stay in the hands of veterinarians.  I can’t help you if I don’t know what the hell the pharmacy prescribed you or where they got it from.  I can’t guarantee that the drugs are good because I didn’t personally lay hands on them and prescribe them.  For all I know,  XXX heartworm prevention is a side product of methamphetamines.

So if you do not wish to support my small business and you want to take your business to a large chain conglomerate, please do not expect me to go out of my way to help you when a problem comes up.  I suggest you call XXX pharmacy.

About this entry